Dyson Law PLLC provides compassionate and aggressive representation for South Florida car accident victims.
The physical and emotional impact of a car accident can follow you for months or years. From recovering from your injuries to finding a way to replace your lost income, it can feel like a daily struggle to get your life back to normal. You can remove some stress by filing a claim to recover damages. Instead of worrying about the mounting bills, you can focus on healing from your injuries.
Dyson Law PLLC has years of experience handling car accident claims in South Florida. Our compassionate team of attorneys will aggressively fight for your rights, so you can get the compensation you need. Reach out to us to discuss your case and find out if you qualify for damages.
Car crashes can occur for a myriad of reasons. Most often, these accidents are due to:
Florida drivers must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This covers up to $10,000 of your medical bills and lost wages if you are hurt in an accident. You must see a doctor within two weeks of the automobile accident to make a claim on your PIP insurance. You can submit a claim, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. This allows you to begin to receive medical care immediately, without worrying about the bills.
PIP coverage does not prevent you from suing the other driver, though. If your damages exceed $10,000 you are allowed to sue for the remaining balance. For instance, if you have $50,000 in medical bills, you can sue for the remaining $40,000 after using PIP coverage. You can also sue for other losses caused by the accident, such as lost wages.
Some people don’t file claims because they are partially responsible for the accident. First, it’s important to understand that even if you feel culpable, you might not hold any legal responsibility. A car accident attorney can reconstruct the accident and evaluate other evidence to determine fault. Second, Florida is a pure comparative negligence state. That means you can file a claim and recover damages unless you are 100 percent at fault. The court reduces the amount of damages you can recover based on your degree of responsibility. For example, if you are 25 percent at fault, your recoverable damages will be reduced by 25 percent.
Your recoverable damages are based on factors such as the extent of your injury and your long-term prognosis. Your auto accident attorney will need to evaluate the evidence before determining what your case is worth. You might be eligible for economic and non-economic damages, depending on the evidence. After your attorney values your case, he or she can negotiate with the insurance company or take the case to trial.
You have up to four years from the date of the accident to file a claim. Once the statute of limitations has expired, you cannot file a claim or collect damages. It’s a good idea to begin the process immediately following the accident while the evidence is still fresh. This will also help you collect damages sooner, so you can replace the income you’ve lost and pay for your medical bills. Many people find that filing the case well before the statute of limitations is the key to eliminating stress after an automobile accident.
Through our years of practice, our team at Dyson Law PLLC has been able to secure outstanding results for many individuals and families who have suffered harm as a result of negligent and wrongful conduct.